On Friday October 8 2021 The Yorkshire Sculpture park is hosting a Prize Ceremony and a day of poetry readings and workshops. Each event will be dotted across the park, and will require individual booking, exact listings and locations of readings and workshops will follow shortly.

2021 Longlist

UK Poet Laureate, Simon Armitage, and the Poetry School, are delighted to announce the longlist for the inaugural ecopoetry prize, The Laurel Prize. The longlist, which was judged this year by the poets Maura Dooley (Chair) and Imtiaz Dharker and ClientEarth Founder, Lawyer and poet James Thornton, is as follows:

Seán Hewitt Tongues of Fire (Jonathan Cape)
Ash Davida Jane How to Live with Mammals (Victoria University Press)
Ricky Ray The Sound of the Earth Singing to Herself (Fly on the Wall Press)
Anja Konig Animal Experiments (Bad Betty Press)
Tim Cresswell Plastiglomerate (Penned in the Margins)
John Kinsella Brimstone (Arc Publications)
Rasiqra Revulva Cephalography 2.0 (Wolsak & Wynn)
Kristen Lang Earth Dwellers (Giramondo Publishing)
Cath Drake The Shaking City (Seren Books)
Gregory Leadbetter Maskwork (Nine Arches Press)
Jen Hadfield The Stone Age (Picador)
Will Burns Country Music (Offord Road Books)
JR Carpenter This is a Picture of Wind (Longbarrow Press)
Kirsten Luckins Passerine (Bad Betty Press)
Daisy Lafarge Life Without Air (Granta)
Natalie Diaz Postcolonial Love Poem (Faber & Faber)
Thomas A Clark The Threadbare Coat (Carcanet)
Barbara Kingsolver How to Fly (Faber & Faber)
Sean Borodale Inmates (Jonathan Cape)
Dom Bury Rite of Passage (Bloodaxe)

The prize awards

(1st Prize)

(2nd Prize)

(3rd Prize)

There’s also a £500 for Best First Collection. In addition, this year’s partner the UK’s Areas of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONBs) are generously funding a commission for the 3 winners to write a poem inspired by the AONB closest to their heart.